Academics

Advisement

Academic Advisement...The Pathway to Success
   

Academic advising is an on-going relationship and a collaborative process between the advisor and advisee that will help students identify and reach their academic objectives. Graduate and transfer students should contact their advisor to ensure their are on track for graduation. Academic advising is the shared responsibility of faculty, staff and students. Following approval of the student for admission, the first step should be to contact the academic advisor for advisement and completion of the Program of Study.  This document should be submitted to the Office of Graduate Studies within the first semester of enrollment. Students should maintain a copy of this form to ensure they are following their plan of study during each advisement session. Any changes in curriculum requirements must be approved by the advisee's advisor and chairperson.

LIST OF GRADUATE ACADEMIC ADVISORS

MASTER OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION
Early Childhood, Elementary Education, Reading                  Dr. Tabitha Smith tabitha@alcorn.edu
Master of Arts in Teaching: Elementary and Secondary          Dr. LaShundia Carson ldcarson@alcorn.edu
Special Education Dr. Helen Wyatt hwyatt@alcorn.edu
Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling Dr. Lynn Etheridge A-M, letheridge@alcorn.edu
Dr. Gerald Peoples N-Z, gpeoples@alcorn.edu                                                                              
Agricultural EducationDr. Wesley Whitaker, wwesley@alcorn.edu
Athletic Administration and CoachingDr. Johnny Thomas, jthomas@alcorn.edu 
Biology EducationDr. M.S. Zaman, zaman@alcorn.edu
Chemistry EducationDr. Sandra Barnes, sbarnes@alcorn.edu
Health and Physical EducationDr. Johnny Thomas, jthomas@alcorn.edu
Mathematics EducationDr. Lixin Yu, lixin@alcorn.edu
Science EducationDr. Sandra Barnes, sbarnes@alcorn.edu
Social Sciences EducationDr. Dixon Idusuyi, idusuyi@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF SCIENCE
BiologyDr. M.S. Zaman, zaman@alcorn.edu
BiotechnologyDr. Keith McGee, kmcgee@alcorn.edu
Computer and Information ScienceDr. Lixin Yu, lixin@alcorn.edu
Workforce Education LeadershipDr. David Addae, daddae@alcorn.edu
Dr. Steve Adzanu, adzanu@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
MBADr. Akash Dania, adania@alcorn.edu
EXECUTIVE MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
Gaming Management and Hospitality ManagementDr. Akash Dania, adania@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF SCIENCE IN NURSING
Family Nurse PractitionerDr. Yolanda Powell-Young, ypowell-young@alcorn.edu
Dr. Geraldine Young, gyoung@alcorn.edu
Dr. Teresa Bryan, teresa@alcorn.edu
Nurse EducatorDr. LaWanda Baskin, lbaskin@alcorn.edu  
Geriatric Nurse PractitionerDr. Yolanda Powell-Young, ypowell-young@alcorn.edu
Dr. Geraldine Young, gyoung@alcorn.edu
Dr. Teresa Bryan, teresa@alcorn.edu
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse PractitionerDr. Yolanda Powell-Young, ypowell-young@alcorn.edu
Dr. Geraldine Young, gyoung@alcorn.edu
Dr. Teresa Bryan, teresa@alcorn.edu
SPECIALIST
Specialist in Elementary EducationDr. Sandra Wilson-Hull, swilson@alcorn.edu
Dr. Arnetta Crosby, acrosby@alcorn.edu