Academics

Advisement

Academic Advisement...The Pathway to Success
   

Academic advising is an on-going relationship and a collaborative process between the advisor and advisee that will help students identify and reach their academic objectives. Graduate and transfer students should contact their advisor to ensure their are on track for graduation. Academic advising is the shared responsibility of faculty, staff and students. Following approval of the student for admission, the first step should be to contact the academic advisor for advisement and completion of the Program of Study.  This document should be submitted to the Office of Graduate Studies within the first semester of enrollment. Students should maintain a copy of this form to ensure they are following their plan of study during each advisement session. Any changes in curriculum requirements must be approved by the advisee's advisor and chairperson.

LIST OF GRADUATE ACADEMIC ADVISORS

MASTER OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION
Early Childhood, Elementary Education, Reading                  Dr. Tabitha Smith tabitha@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF ARTS IN TEACHING
Master of Arts in Teaching: Elementary and Secondary         Dr. Tabitha Smith   tabitha@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF SCIENCE IN SECONDARY EDUCATION
Agricultural EducationDr. Wesley Whitaker wwesley@alcorn.edu
Athletic Administration and CoachingDr. Johnny Thomas jthomas@alcorn.edu 
Biology EducationDr. M. S. Zaman
zaman@alcorn.edu
Chemistry EducationDr. Sandra Barnes sbarnes@alcorn.edu
Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School CounselingDr. Lynn Etheridge A-M letheridge@alcorn.edu
Dr. Gerald Peoples N-Z gpeoples@alcorn.edu 
EnglishDr. Cynthia Scurria cscurria@alcorn.edu
Health and Physical EducationDr. Johnny Thomas jthomas@alcorn.edu
Mathematics Education

Dr. Ping Zhang
pzhang@alcorn.edu

MusicDr. Renardo Murray rmurray@alcorn.edu
Science EducationDr. Sandra Barnes sbarnes@alcorn.edu
Social Sciences EducationDr. Dixon Idusuyi idusuyi@alcorn.edu
Special EducationDr. Tracy Lackey
tlackey@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF SCIENCE
AgricultureDr. Daniel Collins dcollins1@alcorn.edu
Dr. Cassandra Vaughn
cvaughn@alcorn.edu  
Applied Science and TechnologyDr. Steve Adzanu adzanu@alcorn.edu
Biology Dr. M.S. Zaman zaman@alcorn.edu
BiotechnologyDr. Keith McGee kmcgee@alcorn.edu
Computer and Information ScienceDr. Ping Zhang pzhang@alcorn.edu
Workforce Education LeadershipDr. David Addae daddae@alcorn.edu
Dr. Steve Adzanu adzanu@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
General Business, Gaming Management, and Hospitality ManagementDr. Akash Dania adania@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF SCIENCE IN NURSING
Family Nurse Practitioner and Nurse EducatorDr. Janelle Baker jrbaker@alcorn.edu
Dr. Geraldine Young gyoung@alcorn.edu
Nurse EducatorDr. LaWanda Baskin lbaskin@alcorn.edu  
SPECIALIST
Specialist in Elementary EducationDr. Tracy Lackey tlackey@alcorn.edu