Academics

State of Mississippi Hazing Policy

EXCERPTS FROM THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI’S HAZING POLICY

  1. S97-3-105 Of The Mississippi Code Of 1972

    This bill prohibits hazing in the course of a person’s initiation into any organization. Hazing is divided into two degrees or categories based on the result of behavior. A person is guilty of hazing in the first degree when, in the course of another person’s initiation into an organization, he/she intentionally or recklessly engages in conduct which creates a substantial risk of physical injury to such other person or a third person and thereby cause an injury. A person is guilty of hazing in the second degree if all the elements of hazing in the first degree are present, but no injury results. Hazing in the first degree is punishable by a fine of not more than six months. Hazing in the second degree is punishable by a fine of not more than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000).

     

  2. 97-30105 Mississippi Code Of 1972 As Amended

  1. A person is guilty of hazing in the first degree when, in the course of another person’s initiation into or affiliation with any organization, he intentionally or recklessly engages in conduct which creates a substantial risk of physical injury to such person or a third person and thereby cause injury.

  2. Any person violating the provisions of subsection (1) of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not more than Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00) or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months or both.

  3. A person is guilty of hazing in the second degree when, in the course of another person’s initiation into or affiliation with any organization, he intentionally or recklessly engages in conduct which create a substantial risk of physical injury to such other person or a third person.

Any person violating the provisions of subsection (3) of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00).