News Center

  • Alcorn alumnus Robert Patrick’s poetry book set for an August 1 release

    Jackson, Mississippi native Robert J. Patrick realized he could express himself through writing at the young age of 8-years-old. As he grew older, great writers such as Maya Angelou, James Weldon Johnson, Nikki Giovanni, and Langston Hughes, to name a few, not only fueled his inspiration, but contributed to his passion for writing.

  • Meet and Greet with Alcorn coaches set for Saturday, August 15

    Alcorn State University’s coaches will interact with the public at the University’s upcoming athletic event.

    A Meet and Greet with Alcorn State University's athletic coaches will be held Saturday, August 15 from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. at the Holiday Inn in Vicksburg, Mississippi located at 115 Cypress Centre Blvd. The coaches will discuss the latest news and happenings in Alcorn athletics. Food and photo opportunities will be provided at the event. Attendees will also have a chance to win door prizes.

  • Alcorn receives new ambulance

    Alcorn State University acquires a new emergency vehicle.

    Alcorn’s fire department received a fully equipped 2015 4500 GMC ambulance Thursday, July 16. The ambulance includes numerous features such as a power lift Stryker stretcher, a LUCAS Chest Compression System and much more.

  • Alcorn to host Annual Ag Field Day

    “Diversity and Sustainable Agriculture: Celebrating More Than 125 Years of Providing Access and Enhancing Opportunities,” is the theme of this year’s annual Alcorn State University Agricultural, Research and Extension Field Day. The event will be held Thursday, August 27 at 8:00 a.m. at the Jesse A. Morris, Sr./W.C. Boykin Agricultural Science Building located on the Lorman campus. The School of Agriculture, Research, Extension and Applied Sciences will sponsor the event.