Home > Back to News


New officers for ASU National Alumni Association to be sworn in on campus Saturday

The Alcorn State University National Alumni Association will hold its quarterly board of directors business meeting at 10:00 a.m. Saturday, August 11, at the Ray Johnson Auditorium, Agriculture Extension and Research Complex. The highlight of this meeting will be the swearing in of the 2012-2014 officers. The University’s 18th President M. Christopher Brown II will confer the Oath of Office to newly elected alumni leaders.

The new officers are: James Stubbs ’73, president, Charles Davis ’69, 1st vice president, Dr. Ivory Lyles ’80, 2nd vice president, Zelmarine Anderson Murphy ’66, treasurer, Dr. Alpha L. Morris ’52, executive secretary, Dr. Melissa Norman ’97, recording secretary, Beulah Walker ’75, assistant recording secretary, Janice H. Gibson ’93, alumni director, Judge Cedric Bush ’03, parliamentarian, Reverend Neddie Winters ’72, chaplain, Dr. Josephine Posey ’70, historian, and Percy O. Norwood Jr. ’68, immediate past president.

Director of Alumni Affairs Janice H. Gibson says that she especially appreciates the willingness of alumni to serve on the Association’s board and she looks forward to working with the newly elected members. “Together, we will continue to work tirelessly to promote and help Alcorn State University in whatever way possible.”

For more information, contact Janice Gibson at 601.877.6726 or at janice@alcorn.edu .