Offices

Parking

Functions such as permit fulfillment and the collection of parking citation fines are centralized in the Department of Parking Operations. Parking permits are issued at the time of purchase at the cashier’s window on the second floor of the Walter Washington Administration/Classroom Building. 

 

PARKING POLICIES

The parking policies are as follows: 

        • Student Zones: The street in front of Robinson Hall and Burrus Hall is a fire lane. Only park behind these dorms in the designated areas.
        • Residential Student Parking:  Residential students should leave their cars parked at their respective residential areas until after 4 p.m. daily. Parking in other areas during the hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. will result in the issuance of traffic citations. All students living in any residence hall will be authorized to park in any residence hall parking lot or any open parking areas. All students driving a vehicle on campus will be required to purchase a Parking Permit. The cost of a residential student parking permit is $35.00. 
        • Commuter Student Parking:   All commuter students will be authorized to park in the stadium parking lots and ride the shuttle bus to class. The cost of a Commuter Permit will be $20.00. Commuter students taking classes after 5 p.m. must purchase a Commuter Permit but will be allowed to park in any open parking areas, including the WWACB lot.
        • Walter Washington Administration and Classroom Building: The lot for WWACB is exclusively for faculty, staff and administrators. No student will be authorized to park in the WWACB lot between the hours of 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. on Monday through Friday.
        • Staff/Faculty Parking: All faculty and staff members are required to purchase a Parking Permit and are authorized to park in any open parking areas on campus. The cost of this permit is $40.00. If you register two vehicles at the same time, the cost of dual registration is $70.00. (Both vehicles must be registered to you or your spouse).
        • Visitor Parking: The University offers complimentary permits for visitors to the campus. These permits are available at the Welcome Center for visitors, vendors and contractors and are valid for 24 hours. To avoid violation of parking regulations after a 24-hour period, a temporary permit must be purchased in the Department of Parking Operations. Temporary permits are valid for 7 days at a cost of $10.00.
        • Handicapped/Disabled Parking: Verification of all permanent handicapped parking/disabled license tag holders must be completed in person at the Department of Parking Operations located in the Walter Washington Administration/Classroom Building. Any individual that is certified for disabled parking by the state of Mississippi, or by the state in which the disabled individual resides, should bring his or her state issued accessible documentation to the Department of Parking Operations. Failure to report the necessary information may result in a citation for failure to register.

 

NO PARKING ZONES

Observe the following no parking zones: 

        • Do not park, drive or walk on the grass.
        • Do not park in a handicap space without a valid handicapped sticker. You must also be prepared and able to verify that the sticker belongs to either you or your passenger.
        • Do not park where the curb is painted yellow.

 

PARKING RESTRICTIONS  

The following parking restrictions will be implemented and strictly enforced throughout the year:

        • No parking is authorized on Alcorn Drive from Bowles Hall to Alice Tanner (dining hall and library strip).
        • There is no parking from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Alcorn Drive from WWACB to Fine Arts Building on Fine Arts Ave.
        • There is no parking in the service entrance/delivery ramp area of the Bristow dining facility except for Sodexo employees’ cars with decals and Sodexo sticker. The whole circle drive is off limits. Parking for the dining hall will be in the gravel parking lot.
        • No parking is authorized on Infirmary Ave from Alcorn Drive to Residential Ave.
        • No parking is authorized in the Residence Lanes (Mabel Thomas, Robinson, and Burrus Halls area). This includes the whole circle except for the spaces labeled “staff” on the side of Harmon Hall.
        • Parking on any grassy area is strictly prohibited.
        • There is no parking on bike lane around Alcorn Drive.

  

VEHICLE NOISE POLLUTION

Excessively loud and/or vulgar music coming from your car, your room or from a device in your possession will not be tolerated. The discretion of the investigating officer will determine what is excessive, and reasonable standards will be applied. However, as a matter of common courtesy, music should only be played loud enough for your personal enjoyment without infringing upon the rights of others. Everyone who operates a vehicle on campus must purchase a parking permit.

 

REGISTRATION FOR PARKING PERMIT

Everyone who operates a vehicle on campus must purchase a parking permit. You must have a valid driver’s license and show proof of insurance to purchase a decal. Parking or operating a vehicle on campus without a valid decal may result in a citation, a vehicle boot or your vehicle being towed at your expense.

To register for a valid ASU Parking Permit, follow the following instructions: 

        • Enter the URL https://connected.alcorn.edu/asucops/ .
        • Click on Vehicle Registration Application.
        • After reading “vehicle registration application,” click on “I Accept.”
        • Enter your ASU-ID Number and date of birth, then submit.
        • Your information will appear; follow instructions and then submit.
        • If you have registered a vehicle before, your vehicle information will appear and you need to check for accuracy and then submit. If this is your first time to register or you are registering a different vehicle, you must enter your vehicle information. Remember your tag information because you will need it again.
        • Select your designation, then submit.
        • Enter insurance information and/or disability permit number, if applicable, then submit.
        • Confirm information and click submit. If changes must be made, click edit, make changes, then confirm and click submit.
        • An e-mail notice will appear. Go to bottom and click on link shown as To Print Out Confirmation of Application.
        • The Print Vehicle Registration Application page appears; enter ASU-ID number and vehicle tag number and click submit.
        • Once the Campus Police Decal Application Print-Out page appears, make sure the application date is the day you input your information, then print this page.
        • Take this page, your current ASU Gold Card and proof of insurance to the ASU Cashier’s Office to purchase your parking decal.
        • Follow the directions on the back of the decal to avoid receiving a traffic citation.  

 

TRANSIT

The University offers a shuttle service that is designed to ease the flow of traffic and control parking lots for the ease of visitors, faculty, staff and students. The hours of operation for the shuttle service are on Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m.

 

TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS AND FINES  

All tickets must be paid within 10 days. After 10 days, the fee(s) will double.

 

Violation

 

Fine

Failure to Yield Right of Way

$35.00

Making an Illegal U-Turn

$20.00

Reckless Driving

$75.00

Running a Stop Sign

$35.00

Driving under the Influence of Alcohol

$100.00

Failure to Obey Blue Lights/Audible Siren

$50.00

No Driver’s License

$100.00

Improper Tag

$65.00

No Tag

$100.00

No Decal

$65.00

No Insurance

$100.00

No Decal Displayed

$65.00

Obstructing Traffic

$50.00

Parking in a Tow-Away Zone

$50.00

Double Parking

$50.00

Running Checkpoint

$50.00

Parking in a Handicapped Zone with No Decal

$100.00

Parking in Exclusive Parking (Highly Restricted Area)

$100.00

Parking in Restricted Parking

$50.00

Obstructing Wheelchair Route

$50.00

Obstructing Sidewalk

$40.00

Parking in No Parking Zone

$50.00

Blocking a Fire Lane or Hydrant

$50.00

Parking Adjacent to Yellow Curb

$20.00

Parking on the Grass

$50.00

Parking in a Load Zone

$20.00

Parking in a Closed-off Area

$50.00

Parking in a Non-designated Area

$50.00

Parking in an Area Marked in Yellow

$20.00

Double Parking

$50.00

Abandoned Vehicle

$20.00

Resident Out of Zone

$35.00

Commuter Out of Zone

$35.00

Staff Out of Zone

$50.00

Improper Decal

$65.00

  

PARKING REMINDERS

The permit must be permanently affixed to the vehicle according to the directions on the back of the permit. Parking permits are non-transferrable.

All vehicles must have a valid parking permit displayed properly.

To prevent traffic congestion and parking violations, commuter students should park in the stadium parking lot and utilize the campus shuttle. Commuter students who park beyond the stadium will receive parking citations.

Commuters may park in any zone after 5 p.m. Any vehicle with a valid ASU permit may park in any legal space after 5 p.m. except in spaces designated Handicapped, Exclusive Service, Service Parking, or Reserved. Vehicles must be in designated parking area at 7 a.m. the following day.

 

APPEALS PROCESS FOR PARKING VIOLATIONS  

An appeals committee that is independent of the Department of Parking Operations will conduct the appeals process. The committee is comprised of faculty/staff and student representation at Alcorn State University. 

The appeals process allows the student, faculty, staff member, or visitor an opportunity to petition the citation that was issued by a patrol officer because of a parking violation.

Effective immediately, all appeals must be submitted using the appeals form located on the Parking Operations website. 

The responsibilities of the appellant are as follows:

        • A request for an appeal must be made within 10 business days of the issuance of the citation. Effective September 1, 2012, clients may submit appeals to the Department of Parking Operations in writing using the Request for Appeals form.
        • Notice of receipt of the appeals will be emailed back to the appellant upon completion. If the appellant does not receive an email acknowledgement, he or she must contact the Department of Parking Operations.
        • Notice of the decision regarding the appeal will be sent via email, campus mail or U.S. Mail.
        • If the citation is dismissed, no further action is necessary on behalf of the appellant.
        • If the appeal has been denied, the citation must be paid within 15 days of the receipt of the official notification.
        • All decisions from the appeals committee are final.
The appeals committee will make any decision on the appeal based on the guidelines below:
        • It is the obligation of the appellant to present information that would invalidate the ticket.
        • The reasons that will not be considered by the committee are as follows:
              • Handicapped parking violations
              • Fire lane violation
              • Improperly parked vehicles
              • Inability to find a proper convenient parking space
              • Late arrival to class or appointment
              • Financial hardship caused by fine
              • Lack of knowledge of the regulations (you are new to campus/have not reviewed regulations).  
        • All requests for appeals must be reviewed in a timely manner (no later than 15 days after a request for appeal has been submitted).
        • The appellant must be notified via email, campus mail or U.S. Mail.
        • The appellant must attend the appeals hearing. Otherwise, the appeals form will serve in lieu of the appellant’s physical presence.
        • If the appeals committee finds that the citation was valid and enforceable, then the appellant must pay the citation within 15 days after the hearing date.
        • If the appeals committee finds that the citation is invalid and unenforceable, then the Department of Parking Operations must have the citation removed from the appellant’s record within 15 days of the hearing date.
        • Unpaid citation(s) will prevent the student from registering for classes and/or receiving his or her grades, transcripts and diploma.
        • Faculty or staff members who do not pay their fines within 15 days will receive proper notice. If the citation is a decal infraction, a decal must be purchased.  

For more information, please visit http://www.alcorn.edu/Parking/, call (601) 877-6159 or send an email to parkingoperations@alcorn.edu.