Where Knowledge and Character Matter ®

Advisement

Academic Advisement...The Pathway to Success

Academic advising is an on-going relationship and a collaborative process between the advisor and advisee that will help students identify and reach their academic objectives. Graduate and transfer students should contact their advisor to ensure their are on track for graduation. Academic advising is the shared responsibility of faculty, staff and students. Following approval of the student for admission, the first step should be to contact the academic advisor for advisement and completion of the Program of Study. This document should be submitted to the Office of Graduate Studies within the first semester of enrollment. Students should maintain a copy of this form to ensure they are following their plan of study during each advisement session. Any changes in curriculum requirements must be approved by the advisee's advisor and chairperson.


List of Graduate Academic Advisors

MASTER OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION
Early Childhood, Elementary Education, Reading Dr. Tabitha Smith tabitha@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF ARTS IN TEACHING
Master of Arts in Teaching: Elementary and Secondary Dr. Tabitha Smith tabitha@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF SCIENCE IN SECONDARY EDUCATION
Agricultural Education Dr. Wesley Whitaker wwesley@alcorn.edu
Athletic Administration and Coaching Dr. Johnny Thomas jthomas@alcorn.edu
Biology Education Dr. M. S. Zaman
zaman@alcorn.edu
Chemistry Education Dr. Sandra Barnes sbarnes@alcorn.edu
Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling Dr. Lynn Etheridge A-M letheridge@alcorn.edu
Dr. Gerald Peoples N-Z gpeoples@alcorn.edu
English Dr. Cynthia Scurria cscurria@alcorn.edu
Health and Physical Education Dr. Johnny Thomas jthomas@alcorn.edu
Mathematics Education

Dr. Ping Zhang
pzhang@alcorn.edu

Music Dr. Renardo Murray rmurray@alcorn.edu
Science Education Dr. Sandra Barnes sbarnes@alcorn.edu
Social Sciences Education Dr. Dixon Idusuyi idusuyi@alcorn.edu
Special Education Dr. Tracy Lackey
tlackey@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF SCIENCE
Agriculture Dr. Daniel Collins dcollins1@alcorn.edu
Dr. Cassandra Vaughn
cvaughn@alcorn.edu
Applied Science and Technology Dr. Steve Adzanu adzanu@alcorn.edu
Biology Dr. M.S. Zaman zaman@alcorn.edu
Biotechnology Dr. Keith McGee kmcgee@alcorn.edu
Computer and Information Science Dr. Ping Zhang pzhang@alcorn.edu
Workforce Education Leadership Dr. David Addae daddae@alcorn.edu
Dr. Steve Adzanu adzanu@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
General Business, Gaming Management, and Hospitality Management Dr. Akash Dania adania@alcorn.edu
MASTER OF SCIENCE IN NURSING
Family Nurse Practitioner and Nurse Educator Dr. Janelle Baker jrbaker@alcorn.edu
Dr. Geraldine Young gyoung@alcorn.edu
Nurse Educator Dr. LaWanda Baskin lbaskin@alcorn.edu
SPECIALIST
Specialist in Elementary Education Dr. Tracy Lackey tlackey@alcorn.edu