Graduate Council Minutes April 23, 2014

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Dr. Donzell Lee. Other members in attendance were Dr. Barry Bequette, Dr. Keith McGee, Ms. Julia Odom, Dr. Babu Patlolla, Dr. Bettaiya Rajanna, Ms. Lula Russell, Dr. Cynthia Scurria, and Dr. Lixin Yu.

Biology: Dr. Bettaiya Rajanna is requesting students enrolled in Master of Science in Biology writing a non-thesis opt out from submitting a hard bound copy to the Office Graduate Studies. Dr. Rajanna is recommending that a non-thesis be submitted in spiral binder. Dr. Donzell Lee informed the Council during a SACs visit, they usually will request to review theses and non-theses. Because of SACs requirements, we should continue to receive the hard bound copies. While discussing the proposal, the question was asked about quality of theses. When the theses are received in Graduate Studies for Vice President's signature, there are errors in the paper. Dr. Cynthia Scurria reminded the Council that the writing center and Dr. Don Simonton are available to graduate students.

Computer and Information Science: Dr. Lixin Yu introduced a proposal to allow students in the Master of Science in Computer and Information Science to opt out completing theses, research projects, and internships and take a comprehensive exam. After discussing the logistics of the proposal, the Council tabled the motion. The proposal will be discussed in a future meeting after Dr. Lee and Dr. Yu meet to review and revise the proposal. See attached proposal.

Second Master's Degree: Ms. Lula Russell reported on the Second Master's Degree. The Ad Hoc committee met and developed the attached policy for Second Master's Degree. Dr. Donzell Lee tabled the motion until a representative is present from the Department of Education. See attached Second Master's Degree policy.

Graduate Faculty Applications - Graduate Faculty: Dr. Babu Patlolla submitted a graduate faculty applicant for graduate faculty membership for the Department of Biological Science. The council moved and seconded the motion to approve the following applicants for graduate faculty membership:

Stephen G. Hall
 ASU Associate Member

Dr. Barry Bequette submitted graduate faculty applicants for graduate faculty membership for the Department of Agriculture. The council moved and seconded the motion to approve the following applicant for graduate faculty membership:

Jairo Diaz-Ramirez
 Amanda K. Nanjundaswamy
 ASU Associate Member
 ASU Associate Member

Subsequent Degree: Ms. Julia Odom shared the Subsequent Degree Certification of Hours Plan with the Graduate Council members. The student is required to meet with his/her advisor and submit the form to Financial Aid. The Subsequent Degree Plan does not require information from Graduate Studies.

Announcement: Meeting adjourned at 4:05 p.m.