Alcorn State University

GRADUATE COUNCIL Minutes of Meeting Held Wednesday, September 27, 2017

The Graduate Council met on Wednesday, September 27, 2017, in the Provost Conference Room in Bowles Hall, Academic Affairs Room 202. Dr. Donzell Lee presided.

Present: Dr. Ivan Banks, Dr. Jermiah Billa, Dr. Edmund Buckner, Dr. Latoya Hart, Dr. Dickson Idusuyi, Dr. Donzell Lee, Dr. Renardo Murray, Dr. Victor Njiti, Ms. Julia Odom, Dr. Babu Patlolla, Dr. Cynthia Scurria, Dr. Johnny Thomas, Dr. Donna Williams, Dr. Voletta Williams, Dr. Helen Wyatt and Dr. Ping Zhang.

Absent: Dr. Janelle Baker, Dr. Sandra Barnes, Dr. Akash Dania, Dr. Rebecca Fairchild, Dr. Tanya Herndon, Dr. Barbara Martin, Dr. Keith McGee, Dr. Blanche Sanders, Dr. Tracee Smith, Dr. Debra Spring

Alternate Reps: Ms. LaWanda Baskin (Rep for Dr. Janelle Baker)

Call to Order: Dr. Lee called the meeting to order at 2:33 p.m. The Agenda was approved as printed with two items added, Application for Graduate Faculty Membership for Dr. Jameka Grigsby and a new Concentration, NCAA Compliance and Academic Progress Reporting for a Master of Science in Secondary Education. Dr. Lee orchestrated a welcome from the council to new council member, Dr. Edmund Buckner, Dean of the School of Agriculture and Applied Science, welcomed back Dr. Ivan Banks, Interim Dean of the School of Education and Psychology, and extended greetings to Ms. LaWanda Baskin from the School of Nursing before proceeding with the meeting.

Approval of Minutes: The Graduate Council February 8, 2017 and March 29, 2017 minutes were reviewed and unanimously approved by the body.

Curriculum

Program Revision

Master of Liberal Arts Program

Dr. Murray shared information on the new graduate degree program, Master of Liberal Arts, with Concentrations in Criminal Justice, English, History, Mass Communications, Music, and Political Science. He stated the departments are still working to organize the programs to get them off the ground. Each Concentration is a 33-hours program. IHL has approved the Master of Liberal Arts Program (MLA). The MLA has gone through the university approval process and the Criminal Justice program courses are pending approval of the University Curriculum Committee. The Council approved the following courses.

English:
New Courses Added
EN 504 Literary Theory

Course Title and Description Changes:

EN 511 Seminar in British Literature

EN 512 Seminar in American Literature

Mass Communication:

New Courses Added

CO 521 Mass Communication Law and Policy

CO 525 Current Issues and Trends in Mass Media

CO 540 Theory of Mass Communication

CO 550 Research Methods in Mass Communication

CO 560 Social Media: objectives, Strategies, and Tactics

CO 591 Mass Communication and Public Opinion

Music:

New Courses Added

MU 507 Selected topics in Music Theory

MU 508 Seminar in Music History and Literature

MU 509 Selected Topics in Music History and Literature

MU 510 Music Pedagogy and Techniques

MU 511 World Music

Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts Electives:

New Courses Added

ILA 500 Introduction to Liberal Arts

ILA 501 Research in Liberal Arts

ILA 599 Capstone Project

Following approval of the Criminal Justice courses by the University Curriculum Committee, this report will be presented to the Council for approval.

Criminal Justice:

New Courses Added

CJ 501 Advanced Constitutional Law and Criminal Justice

CJ 502 Advanced Criminal Investigation

CJ 505 Advanced Corrections

CJ 506 Advanced Criminal Law

CJ 507 Advanced Budgeting & Financial Management

CJ 510 Advanced Criminal Justice System

CJ 511 Advanced Judicial Process and Policy Making

Master of Business Administration

Dr. Donna Williams informed the council that the Executive Master of Business Administration has been approved by IHL This program offers two Concentrations, Gaming Management and Hospitality Management.

The Master of Business Administration will separate its degree programs into two options, Master of Business Administration with a Concentration in General Business and the Executive Master of Business Administration with Concentrations in Gaming Management and Hospitality Management. Changes have been made to revise the name of the Master of Business Administration Online 100% program (MBAO) to Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) as approved by the Institution of Higher Learning (IHL). Concentrations will continue to be offered in Gaming and Hospitality.

Graduate Faculty

Listed below are names of applicants who applied for graduate faculty membership and were approved by the Graduate Council:

School of Arts and Sciences Biological Sciences Dr. Jameka GrigsbyAdjunct, New Appointment, ASU Professional Affiliate
<u>Chemistry and Physics</u> Dr. Sandra BarnesProfessor, Reappointment, ASU Full Member
English, Languages and Mass Communications Toni W. Terrett, JDAssistant Professor, New Appointment, ASU Associate Member
Social Sciences Alfred Galtney, JDAdjunct, New Appointment, ASU Professional Affiliate
School of Education and Psychology Health and Physical Education Dr. Dongwook ChoAssistant Professor, New Appointment, ASU Associate Member
School of Nursing Ms. LaWanda W. Baskin Assistant Professor, Reappointment, ASU Professional Affiliate Ms. Brenda F. Collins Adjunct, Reappointment, ASU Professional Affiliate Dr. Tearsanee Davis Adjunct, Reappointment, ASU Professional Affiliate Ms. Katherine Hansen Assistant Professor, New Appointment, ASU Associate Member Dr. Jacqueline Johnson Associate Professor, New Appointment, ASU Associate Member (Dr. Johnson's name withdrawn from consideration since she is no longer employed at Alcorn)
Dr. Walterine T. Nelson

Dr. Lee announced Dr. Donna Williams has been named Dean of the School of Business.

Unfinished Business and General Orders

a) Curriculum Requirements: Prerequisites for Admission –

- b) Graduation: Thesis Oral Defense –
- c) Graduation: Thesis and Projects Submission Review and Approval Process –
- d) Proposed Substitution Policy The appointment of council members to serve on the policy committee was revisited. Representatives appointed from each school will remain as follows:
 - Dr. Janelle Baker, School of Nursing
 - Dr. Akash Dania, School of Business
 - Dr. Victor Njiti, School of A.R.E.A.S.
 - Dr. Voletta Williams, School of Arts and Sciences
 - Dr. Helen Wyatt, School of Education and Psychology

New Business

- a) Departmental Admission Formulas -.
- b) Admission Committees -
- c) Writing Proficiency Requirement -
- d) Six-Year Time Limit -
- e) Application to Enroll in 500 Level Graduate Courses –
- f) Master of Science in Secondary Education with a Concentration in NCAA Compliance and Academic Progress Reporting (APR) -

Good of the Order

Adjournment - Meeting adjourned at 3:51 p.m.