

Policy Directory

Responsible Division: Finance and Administrative Services

Responsible Office: Human Resources

Issue/Revision Date: 12/01/2017

Official Holidays

Policy:

Alcorn State University closes its offices and ceases regular business functions and activities in observance of designated holidays, and at other times approved and announced by the University President/IEO. All regular employees (except temporary employees, student employees, and rehired retirees) receive their regular pay for scheduled holidays.

Generally, holidays that fall on a Sunday are observed on the following Monday, and holidays falling on a Saturday are observed on the previous Friday. To be eligible for holiday pay, employees must be present for work or in an approved paid leave status on the first regularly scheduled day of work before the holiday and the first scheduled work day after the holiday.

Alcorn State University recognizes the following holidays:

1.	Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday	1 Day
2.	Good Friday	1 Day
3.	Memorial Day	1 Day
4.	Labor Day	1 Day
5.	Independence Day (July 4 th)	1 Day
6.	Thanksgiving Day	2 Day
7.	Christmas/New Year's Break	8 Days
	Total	15 Days