Alcorn President elected to SACS-COC Board of Trustees

Alcorn President elected to SACS-COC Board of Trustees

Alcorn State, Miss. (December 11, 2012) – The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACS-COC) elected today at its annual meeting in Dallas, Texas, President M. Christopher Brown II to its Board of Trustees. SACS-COC is the regional accrediting body for higher education degree-granting institutions across the eleven southernmost states. President Brown’s tenure begins January 2013 and ends December 2015.

The members of the Board of Trustees are elected by the College Delegate Assembly (CDA), which is comprised of one voting representative from each accredited institution.

“I am committed to the principles of the Commission knowing the importance of institutions maintaining the requisite educational quality to insure the success of students and society,” stated Brown. “I am honored to have the opportunity to serve on the SACS-COC Board of Trustees.”

Serving as a trustee, Brown will assist the Commission in evaluating and establishing accreditation standards, as well as deliberate on both the accreditation process and decisions of SACS-COC member institutions and applicants.

President Brown is not new to accreditation work having previously functioned as an assessment consultant for the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. Additionally, Brown was vice president for Programs and Administration at the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education — a one-third equity owner of the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) — and a former member of the NCATE Board of Examiners.

Alcorn State University is accredited by the Commission to award the associate, bachelor’s, master’s and education specialist degrees. SACS is a private, non-governmental organization recognized by the United States Department of Education.

For more information on SACS Commission on Colleges, visit  


Alcorn State University is a premier comprehensive land-grant university that develops diverse students into globally-competitive leaders, and applies scientific research through collaborative partnerships which benefit the surrounding communities, state, nation and world.