Meet Alcorn’s new student leadership 2013-2014

Meet Alcorn’s new student leadership 2013-2014  

The Office of Student Activities is proud to announce the 2013-2014 Student Government Association elected members:

SGA President: Avery Ford, a junior, agriculture economics major, from Columbus, Mississippi. Avery aspires to gain employment with the United States Department of Agriculture upon graduation. He has served as the polemarch of the Gamma Pi Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., vice president of Alcorn’s Sigma Tau Delta chapter, vice president of the Junior Class Cabinet of Alcorn, and as a representative of the Sophomore Class Cabinet of Alcorn. It’s clear to see that Mr. Avery Ford is ready to begin his tenure as the 2013-2014 Student Government Association president!

Miss Alcorn: Carmen Gibson, a junior, psychology major, from Greenville, Mississippi. Carmen aspires to become a vocational expert upon graduation. During her freshman year, Carmen reigned as Miss Capital City Classic ASU 2010 and during her sophomore year, she was crowned Miss Black & Gold for the Delta Kappa Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Carmen is a spring 2012 initiate of the Delta Epsilon chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. where she currently serves as vice president. It’s evident that Ms. Carmen Gibson is ready to begin her reign as the 2013-2014 Miss Alcorn State University.

1st Vice President: Kristen Hurns, a junior biology/pre-medicine major, from Cleveland, MS

2nd Vice President: Randy Griffin, a sophomore, electro-mechanical engineering major, from Centreville, MS

Executive Secretary: El’Shamekia Winding, a Sophomore Agriculture Economics Major from Liberty, MS

Business Manager: Darrence Bell, a junior biology/health science major, from Hazel Crest, IL

RHA President: Christopher Murray Jr., a sophomore, electro-mechanical engineering major, from Gloster, MS

Historian: Candice Travis, a junior, biochemistry major, from Grenada, MS

Publications Manager: Frederick Brown, a sophomore, biology/pre-medicine major from Pickens, MS

Senior Class President: Alexander Roberts, a junior, health and physical education major, from Columbus, MS

Miss Senior: Amber Jones, a junior biology/health science major, from Greenwood, MS

Junior Class President: Zackeus Johnson, a sophomore, agricultural business management major, from Liberty, MS

Miss Junior: Jarrae King, a sophomore, accounting major, from Battle Creek, MI

Sophomore Class President: Adrian McLain, a freshman, agricultural economics/pre-law from Memphis, TN

Miss Sophomore: Toneisha Buxton, a freshman, biology/pre physical therapy major, from Vossburg, MS

*Freshman Class President & Miss Freshman will be elected in the fall during new student orientation.