Alcorn faculty receives the Diversity Award for Excellence from IHL

Alcorn faculty receives the Diversity Award for Excellence from IHL

As the world is becoming more diverse, college education strives to reflect those changes allowing students to be well-rounded and competitive in the job market. Alcorn State University has been very successful in advocating for diversity and has earned numerous recognitions for advancing diversity on its three campuses.

On February 20, 2014, Darryl V. Grennell, faculty in the Department of Biological Sciences at Alcorn, was honored by the Mississippi Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning in recognition of Black History Month and presented with the Diversity Award for Excellence at the IHL Board meeting.

The IHL Black History Month recognition honors faculty and staff members from each of Mississippi’s public universities for advancing diversity at their institutions.

“It is an honor to be recognized by IHL and to represent Alcorn, an organization that strives for the advancement of diversity within and in the state of Mississippi,” said Grennell.

An experienced educator, Grennell teaches microbiology, medical microbiology and genetics at Alcorn. He has also been involved in several research projects and academic programs at the University. In addition, Grennell received one the highest awards given by the State of Mississippi to faculty at institutions of higher learning, the HEADWAE Award for Outstanding Faculty Member at Alcorn State University 2005-2006. He is also president of the Adams County Board of Supervisors, where he represents District Four of Adams County.

He graduated from Tougaloo College and Alcorn State University, and has done additional graduate work at the University of Southern Mississippi.
Grennell is involved in many professional, civic, community, and service organizations nationally, throughout the state of Mississippi and locally including first vice president of the Mississippi Association of Supervisors Minority Caucus, past polemarch and life member of Kappa Alpha Psi, past state president and past Southwestern Province Board of Directors of Kappa Alpha Psi, member of the National Strategic Planning Committee of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, president of the Natchez Little Theater Board of Directors, president of the Historic Natchez Foundation, member of Phi Delta Kappa, member of H.R. Revel Masonic Lodge F and AM, member of Beta Beta Beta, member of Beta Kappa Chi Honor Society, past president of the Alcorn Faculty Senate, served on the State of Mississippi Fire Ant Task Force, past advisor of the Alcorn Pan Hellenic Council, member and trustee at Zion Chapel AME Church, past officer, board member and life member of the Natchez Branch of NAACP, board member of Partnership for a Healthy Mississippi, executive board member of Southwest Planning and Development District, member of the Mississippi Association of Educators, member of the National Educators Association, member of the Mississippi Association of Supervisors, member of MAGPA, member of NAPAC, member of the Natchez Downtown Development Association, member of the Adams County Democratic Executive Committee, former delegate to the National Democratic Convention, member of the Natchez Literary and Cinema Celebration Advisory Board, member and officer of the Boys and Girls Club of the Miss-Lou, member of the Krewe of Mer. He is also a member and officer of several other organizations.