Where Knowledge and Character Matter ®


Engagement Component

Alcorn State University serves as the lead institution for the Socially Disadvantaged Farmers and Ranchers Policy Research Center and collaborates with other 1890 and 1862 land-grant universities in research proposals and policy development. Also, Alcorn State University collaborates with private non-governmental organizations on research, policy development, and funding to implement actionable items for the success of socially disadvantaged farmers and ranchers.

The 19 historically black land-grant universities are located in 18 states as follows: Alabama A&M University and Tuskegee University (Alabama); University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff (Arkansas); Delaware State University (Delaware); Florida A&M University (Florida); Fort Valley State University (Georgia); Kentucky State University (Kentucky); Southern University and A&M College (Louisiana); University of Maryland, Eastern Shore (Maryland); Alcorn State University (Mississippi); Lincoln University (Missouri); North Carolina A&T State University (North Carolina); Central State University (Ohio); Langston University (Oklahoma); South Carolina State University (South Carolina); Tennessee State University (Tennessee); Prairie View A&M University (Texas); West Virginia State (West Virginia); and Virginia State University (Virginia).

The president of Alcorn State University and the Director of the Policy Research Center identified national agriculture leaders to serve as members of an advisory board. The advisory board, chaired by Dr. Alfred Rankins. Jr., president of Alcorn State University, consists of 20 members that include representation from the socially disadvantaged farmers and ranchers community, Community Based Organizations, 1890 Land-Grant universities, 1862 Land Grant universities, Socially Disadvantaged Farmers and Ranchers farm organizations, agriculture business and other agricultural leaders with a history of working with socially disadvantaged farmers and ranchers. The purpose of the advisory board is to assist the Policy Research Center in center effectiveness focusing on the three areas of active research, stakeholder engagement, and outreach.


Office Location

Biotechnology Building 2rd floor
Lorman Campus

Mailing Address

1000 ASU Drive #449
Lorman, MS 39096-7500


(601) 877-6601