Alcorn academic deans’ search committee chairpersons announced

Alcorn academic deans’ search committee chairpersons announced

Chairpersons for the dean search committees were announced today by Executive Vice President and Provost Samuel L. White to recommend highly qualified candidates to lead the six academic areas at Alcorn. He stated, “The University is actively conducting the search process in an effort to promote effectiveness and ensure that key positions at the University are occupied by the best candidates.”

The search committee structure is:

School of Agriculture and Applied Sciences
Committee chair – Dr. Dovi Alipoe, director, Office of Global Programs

School of Arts and Sciences
Committee chair – Dr. Lixin Yu, chairperson, Department of Math and Computer Sciences

School of Education and Psychology
Committee chair – Dr. April Owens, faculty, Department of Education and Psychology

Libraries and Information Resources
Committee chair – Dr. John Igwebuike, associate dean for undergraduate programs, School of Business

School of Business
Committee chair – Dr. Akash Dania, assistant professor of finance, School of Business

School of Nursing
Committee chair – Dr. Meg Brown, chairperson, Department of Baccalaureate Nursing

Vice President for Research
Committee chair – Dr. Donzell Lee, vice provost, Office of Academic Affairs

“Deans provide vision and leadership for their perspective areas,” says Alcorn President M. Christopher Brown II. “A dedication and commitment to recruiting top-caliber students, promoting and assuring academic rigor, research and excellence is a must.”

“The search committees were formed following the recommendations provided by Faculty Senate and appointed by executive vice president and provost,” stated Faculty Senate President Dixon Idusuyi.

The committees will convene the week of January 14, to begin screening applications and acknowledge receipt. The committee members will review applications and assess the merits of each applicant using the following criteria: educational background, experience, research and publications (creative endeavors as appropriate for the position), leadership ability, service, and strength of recommendations.

During the remainder of January and beginning of February, the committees will create a short list of candidates and conduct interviews for select five candidates. By February 18, three finalists will be announced by executive vice president and provost, and forums will be scheduled for faculty, staff and students to dialogue with finalists and give input. On-campus interviews with finalists will be conducted in March. The preferred candidate will be selected by executive vice president and provost and his recommendations will be sent to the president.

Tentatively, on April 15, a public announcement of new deans and their hire date will be made.