School of Business holds its annual Honors Ceremony to recognize student achievement

School of Business holds its annual Honors Ceremony to recognize student achievement

Alcorn State University School of Business recognized achievements and celebrated major academic success of its students during the annual Honors Ceremony held on campus on April 24, 2013.

Dr. Vivek Bhargava, interim dean, opened the celebration by welcoming the School’s students, faculty, staff, alumni and guests gathered in the Dr. Clinton Bristow Jr. Dining Facility, Gold Room. He said, “We are proud of our students and this is our opportunity to recognize their achievements and celebrate their success.”

Dr. John Igwebuike, associate dean for undergraduate programs, added, “The ceremony is sought to celebrate our students’ engagement in such activities as internship placement, graduate school acceptance and job placement, and serve as a catalyst for future achievements beyond Alcorn.”

“During the program, we also recognize student organizations and a distinguished alumnus who serves as a role model and example for our students,” shared Dr. Lisa Micich, associate professor, who spearheaded the initiation of the Honors Program four years ago.

This year, the prestigious Alumnus of the Year Award was presented to Mrs. Karen R. Shedrick, executive assistant to the president of Alcorn State University, who has been serving as administrative assistant and contributing to the legacy of seven Alcorn presidents – from Dr. Walter Washington to Dr. M. Christopher Brown II. Mrs. Shedrick is known and loved by many generations of Alcorn students, alumni and employees, and was greeted with a standing ovation while receiving her award. She earned a bachelor’s degree in secretarial science in 1988 from the School of Business, and a master’s degree in secondary education from Alcorn in 1999. Since then, she has consistently supported Alcorn and the School of Business through continuities payroll deduction to the ASU Foundation. Contributing a portion of her paycheck to student scholarships for nearly 25 years, she has internalized the celebration’s theme “Our students, our future!”

In her acceptance speech, Mrs. Shedrick thanked the School and stated, “Receiving this award has added a new chapter of my commitment and dedication to Alcorn State University, and the School of Business. I credit my success as a student and employee to the dedicated faculty and staff in the School of Business, who took the time to go the extra mile to prepare me to work at Alcorn State University where knowledge and character matter.”

The program continued with the presentation of student awards. The Undergraduate Student of the Year was presented to Casey Mock, a senior majoring in accounting, who also received a plaque from the Mississippi Society of Certified Public Accountants. Mock has a 3.89 cumulative GPA, serves as a business manager for the Student Government Association, is a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Mu Delta international business honor society, and the Opportunity Fund Corporation Venture Challenge Fund Business Plan Competition Team. He earned an internship with the City of Natchez for the summer 2013 and will join Alcorn’s MBA program in the fall.

Graduate Student of the Year was awarded to MBA student Praveen Ponnaganti, international student from India with a cumulative GPA of 4.00.

Five students – Pavel Sarygin, a freshman, accounting major, Rachelle Abram, a sophomore business administration major, Anastasia Tuset and Stephanie Woo Ling, both juniors majoring in business administration, and seniors Casey Mock and Rosetta Kinght-Futrell – earned certificates for their academic excellence in undergraduate category. Knight-Futrell was also recognized as the student with the highest Educational Testing Service score. Charlette Mock was recognized for her academic excellence in the graduate student category, and MBA student Jason Lynch was honored for his fundraising efforts.

Student organizations recognized included Delta Mu Delta, National Association of Black Accountants, Enactus, Opportunity Fund Corporation Venture Challenge Business Plan Competition Team, Innovative Mississippi Business Plan Competition Team and Mortar Board.

Faculty awards included: Outstanding Educator of the Year – Dr. Kimball P. Marshall, professor of marketing, Outstanding Service Award – Dr. Akash Dania, assistant professor of finance, and Distinguished Faculty – Dr. Ella M. Anderson, professor of management and Enactus’ faculty fellow.

Alcorn President M. Christopher Brown II and Vice Provost Donzell Lee were on hand to congratulate the honorees.


13 a Shedrick SOB 

Dr. Bhargava presents award to Mrs. Shedrick.

13 a undergrad SOB

Mock receives the Undergraduate Student of the Year Award.

13 a grad SOB 

Dr. Bhargava and the Graduate Student of the Year Ward recipient Ponnaganti.