Alcorn’s Health Physics students present at the National Health Physics Society Conference

Fifteen Alcorn State University Health Physics/Advanced Technology students participated in the 60th Annual Health Physics Society National Conference held July 13-18, 2014, in Baltimore, Maryland. The participants included various professionals involved in radiation/nuclear fields within and outside the United States. For the past five years, Alcorn’s HP faculty and students have been actively involved with HPS and have presented a variety of research topics at the annual conferences.

The student attendees and their chaperons included Joseph Dimpah (senior), Obed Brempong (senior), Denease Moore (senior), Alice Damanka (junior), Iesha Green (senior), Matthew Carradine (senior) and graduate students Maxwell Gidi, Michael Atkins, George Osei, Shimi Didla, James Pittman, and Mamzel Dordor.

The Director of Health Physics program Jermiah Billa said, “At the conference, Alcorn was recognized for the second consecutive year as the only institution in the U.S. with the highest student presentation and representation. Here in the HP program, research is one of our priorities.”

The Chairperson of Advanced Technology Kwabena Agyepong stated, “In our department, we ensure that the students gain substantial research experience before they graduate, and I would like to thank Billa for his outstanding efforts in mentoring HP students.”

Senior professor of robotics and automation Steve Adzanu agreed with him and added, “We are elated to see that our students do well in their chosen areas of study.”

The department would like to thanks various individuals who have supported our research activities: Cory Jackson, program manager at the National Nuclear Security Administration/ Department of Energy (NNSA-DOE), and Cheslan Simpson, scientist at the Los Alamos National Laboratory for their immense support in our research efforts.