Alcorn names search committee for Men’s and Women’s Head Basketball Coaches

Director of Athletics Derek Horne announced the formation of a nine-member search committee today that will make recommendations for the next men’s and women’s head basketball coaches.

The contracts of men’s basketball head coach Luther Riley and women’s head basketball coach Tonya Edwards will expire at the end of March and will not be renewed.

The committee is comprised of individuals with deep interests in Alcorn athletics, including representatives from the University’s faculty, staff, and alumni.

The committee is set to start meeting soon, and will screen and interview potential qualified applicants before recommending final candidates to the Director of Athletics, who will make the final selection.

Members of the search team are:

LaKesha Batty Alumni
Jason Cable Staff
Tracy Cook Alumni
Nedra Edmond Alumni
Dorianne Johnson Staff
Peter Malik Faculty
Charles McClelland Alumni
James Stubbs Alumni
LlJuna Weir Staff

Alcorn invites applications, letters of nomination or expressions of interest to be submitted to the Department of Human Resources. Confidential review of materials will begin immediately and continue until appointments are made. Applicants are encouraged to submit completed applications to the attention of the Department of Human Resources, 1000 ASU Drive #390, Lorman, MS 39096-7500.


Alcorn State University is a premier comprehensive land-grant university that develops diverse students into globally competitive leaders, and applies scientific research through collaborative partnerships that benefit the surrounding communities, state, nation, and world.

  • Athletic A.jpg