Nine politicians honored at Alcorn’s Legislative Alumni Reception

Esteemed Alcorn State University alumni were honored for their civic service and commitment to enhancing the University.

Nine Mississippi politicians were recognized at Alcorn's Legislative Alumni Reception Saturday, Oct. 29 in the Dr. Clinton Bristow Jr. Dining Facility Gold Room. The honorees were Albert Butler '70, Alyce Clarke '61, Karl Gibbs '96, Gregory Holloway '79, America Middleton, Orlando Paden '06, Willie Simmons '68, Tammy Witherspoon '03 and Adrienne Wooten '96.

?President Dr. Alfred Rankins Jr. expressed his appreciation for the honorees' commitment to the progress of the University.

"We want to honor this special group of individuals," said Rankins. "They are always advocating for Alcorn. Their due diligence is greatly appreciated."

Adrienne Wooten said that she appreciated her alma mater honoring her and her colleagues for representing the University.

“It always feels good to be honored for any accomplishments that are achieved,” said Wooten. “With us being parts of the legislature, our common goal is to advance Alcorn. I’m very appreciative that this ceremony took place today.”

Senator Albert Butler echoed Wooten’s sentiments about being honored for fighting for the betterment of the University.

“It’s good to know that the University understands the roles we play as government officials,” said Butler. “We’re constantly fighting for historically black colleges and universities, so I felt tremendously honored to be recognized at this event.”

  • Legislative reception resized.jpg