Alumni and community leaders honored at second annual Hall of Fame Banquet

Alcorn State University’s School of Agriculture and Applied Sciences hosted its second annual Alumni Hall of Fame Banquet Friday, Aug. 18, at the Jackson Marriott in Jackson, Mississippi to bestow honor upon six of its alumni; Dr. Albert J. Allen ’71, Dr. Virginia Caples ’67, Dr. Worth Haynes ’65, Dr. Patrick Igbokwe ’76, Dr. Earline Strickland ’60 and Modestine Smith ’51 (posthumously).

The Alumni Hall of Fame Banquet is an annual event held to recognize and honor the outstanding contributions of alumni and supporters who have displayed outstanding achievements and contributions through their profession, and whose community services have aided as an impetus to others. The proceeds from the event will be used to provide scholarships to students majoring in programs within the School.

The event played host to over 200 alumni, family and friends. The Rev. John Wicks, Jr. presided at the event and set the tone for the evening by reciting the first stanza of the “Alcorn ‘Ode.” The sultry music by Jessie Primer, III furthered the mood with his jazz rendition of various songs to make for an exceptional purple and gold affair.

The audience was graced by a warm welcome from Dorothy Kerney-Wilburn, committee member, followed by the official Alcorn greeting from President Alfred Rankins, Jr. Each honoree or family member was presented an award by James Hill, Sr. and Pearlean McReynolds, committee members, President Rankins, Dr. Edmund Buckner, newly-appointed dean and director of land-grant programs, and Delmer Stamps and Judith Ward, co-chairs. A video presentation and a special musical tribute concluded the program.

“We are indebted to the 2017 class of honorees for being trailblazers in the areas of agriculture and family and consumers sciences,” says Stamps. “Their professional career accomplishments and contributions along with their religious, community and social services exemplify what it means to be an Alcornite."

“I am appreciative to the committee and honorees for their dedication and support for this year’s event to provide scholarships for students majoring in advanced technologies, agriculture, biotechnology and human sciences,” says Ward. “Special congratulations to the Alumni Hall of Fame Class of 2017.”

  • sm-Upward_Bound_strive_for_success.jpg