Inaugural Women of Courage Award Ceremony to be held tonight in Vicksburg

Distinguished alumnae from Alcorn State University will be celebrated for their career achievement and community service during a presidential inaugural event geared toward honoring woman excellence.

The Inaugural Women of Courage Award Ceremony will be held Wednesday, April 14, from 6 – 8 p.m. at the Vicksburg Convention Center in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Alcorn’s Office for Educational Equity and Inclusion & the Alcorn Vicksburg Alumni Chapter will serve as the event’s hosts.

The event is one of President Felecia M. Nave’s Inaugural events that celebrate six women, Alcornites, and friends of Alcorn who have significantly impacted their community or profession.

Tonight’s honorees are listed below:

Representative Alyce Griffin Clarke ’61, Mississippi House of Representatives for the 69th District and first African American woman to serve in Mississippi Legislature.

Dr. Myrlie Evers-Williams ’52, civil rights activist and the first African American to lead the Southern California Democratic Women’s Division.

Dr. Katie Grays Dorsett ’53, First African American woman elected to the Greensboro, North Carolina City Council.

Dr. Adena Loston ’73, One of the 10 Most Dominant Leaders of HBCUs, 2021.

Dr. Rukeyser Thompson ’95, leader of the global Hair Care Research & Development program for Herbal Essences.

Dr. Jacqueline Walters ’93, board-certified OBGYN who stars in BRAVO’s Married to Medicine television series.

The event will be live-streamed on Alcorn’s Facebook and YouTube channels. You can also view the event on Alcorn’s website.