Dr. Felecia M. Nave named to “Mississippi’s Most Influential African Americans” list

Alcorn State University President Felecia M. Nave has been named one of Mississippi’s most influential African Americans.

“Our Mississippi” magazine announced the honorees on Oct. 6.

“It is truly an honor to be selected as one of ‘Mississippi’s Most Influential African Americans’ who are making a difference in their communities and throughout the state,” said Dr. Felecia M. Nave, president of Alcorn State University. “I am both humbled and thrilled to be recognized while fulfilling my life’s passion of helping to develop the next generation of well-rounded leaders. I am deeply honored to receive such a prestigious award and I would like to thank ‘Our Mississippi’ magazine and the committee.”

Nave is Alcorn State University’s 20th and first female president in the school’s 151-year history. Since she stepped into her role as president, Nave has launched a new five-year strategic plan, 10-year master campus plan, among making daily strides to forge the university ahead.

Under Nave’s leadership, Alcorn received the largest single donor gift in the university’s history – $25 million – and the largest alumni gift to date – $500,000. Under her tenure, donations have increased annually by 100 percent.

A passionate, student-centered leader, she has spent nearly 20 years as an innovative educator and leader in complex collegiate environments, working exclusively with historically Black institutions such as Prairie View A&M and North Carolina Central University.

Nave is among 12 recipients that will receive the honor on March 25, 2023, at the Cadence Bank Conference Center in Tupelo, Miss.

Other individuals to be honored are David Fernandes, president, Toyota Motor Manufacturing; Robert L. Gibbs, senior partner, Gibbs Travis, PLLC; Thomas Hudson, president, Jackson State University; Willie Jones, president & CEO, Dependable Source Corporation; Billy Knight, mayor, City of Moss Point; Tim Lampkin, CEO, Higher Purpose Co.; Dr. Vernon Rayford, physician, North Mississippi Health Services; Nashlie Sephus, tech entrepreneur, CEO, Bean Path; Dr. Justin Turner, Chief Medical Officer, Mississippi State Department of Health; Dr. Carmen Walters, president, Tougaloo College; and Charles D. Watson, senior vice president, Network Operations, C Spire.