Second annual Hall of Fame Banquet to be held Aug. 18

Six of Alcorn State University’s most revered alumni from the School of Agriculture and Applied Sciences will be celebrated for their hard work.

The School will host its second annual Alumni Hall of Fame Banquet Friday, Aug. 18, at 7 p.m. at the Jackson Marriott, located on 200 East Amite St., Jackson, Mississippi. This year’s Hall of Fame inductees will be: Dr. Earline Strickland, ’60, Dr. Virginia Caples, ’67, posthumously, Modestine Smith, ’51, Dr. Worth Haynes, ’65, Dr. Albert J. Allen, ’71, and Dr. Patrick Igbokwe, ’76.

“The Alumni Hall of Fame is a recognition program designed to honor alumni who have made significant contributions in the areas of agriculture, family and consumer sciences and industrial technology, or a related community affiliation,” says Dr. Gwendolyn Gordon, director of alumni and staff development.

Tickets can still be purchased for $50 per person or $500 per table. For more details or to purchase a ticket, contact Donald Smith, director of development, at (601) 877-6526 or [email protected], or Dr. Gwendolyn L. Gordon at (601) 877-6253 or [email protected].

  • sm-Upward_Bound_strive_for_success.jpg