The Alcorn State University School of Agriculture, Research, Extension and Applied Sciences will hold its inaugural Hall of Fame Banquet Friday, August 19 at 7 p.m. at the Hilton Garden Inn – Downtown Jackson, 235 W. Capitol Street, Jackson, Mississippi.

The highlight of the banquet will be the recognition of seven alumni from the School who will be inducted into the Agriculture and Family and Consumer Sciences Hall of Fame. The 2016 inaugural inductees are Robert E. Cole, Sr.’70, and Roger D. Jones and Johnny M. Shell, both from the class of ’68. Posthumously, the following alumni will also be honored; Charles H. Burton, Sr., ’33, Delors E. Magee, Sr., ’35, Dr. William C. Boykin, Sr., ‘42 and Dr. Jesse A. Morris, Sr. ’50.

“The Hall of Fame recognition program is designed to honor distinguished Alcorn State University alumni and community leaders whose character and accomplishments exemplify outstanding achievement in the field of agriculture, family and consumer sciences and the community,” said Dr. Gwendolyn L. Gordon, School of Agriculture, Research, Extension and Applied Sciences director of alumni and development. “This prestigious award honors individuals who have demonstrated university spirit, professional and leadership characteristics that are worthy of recognition by the University, alumni and professional peer groups.”

The banquet tickets are $50.00 per person or $500.00 per table. For more information, to purchase a ticket, or a souvenir booklet advertisement, contact Donald Smith at 601.877.6526 or [email protected], or Dr. Gwendolyn L. Gordon at 601-877-6253 or [email protected].