Alcorn wins seven awards at the virtual College Public Relations Association of Mississippi Awards Ceremony

The communication departments at Alcorn State University had a strong showing during an annual ceremony that recognizes the work of communications professionals at Mississippi universities and community colleges.

The Division of Marketing and Communication and the Office of Land-Grant Communications won seven awards during the annual College Public Relations Association of Mississippi (CPRAM) Awards Ceremony Monday, Aug. 10.

Larry Orman, vice president for the Division of Marketing and Communication, expressed his pride in the office’s efforts and looks forward to the future.

“We have talented teams at Alcorn. I continue to be impressed by their extraordinary creativity, commitment, and willingness to take on new challenges and develop new skills,” said Orman. “I’m privileged to be working with these dedicated professionals, and I’m excited about the possibilities the future holds as we continue to grow our outreach and the ways we represent this remarkable university.”

Beunkka Davis, director of Marketing and Communications in the Office of Land-Grant Communications, said that dedication to producing good content led them to their awards.

“It was a pleasure for our team to be recognized by one of the most notable organizations for marketing and communications in Mississippi,” said Davis. “We worked hard throughout the year, and our awards are a reflection of our invested time and effort.”

Alcorn’s honors include:

First Place award 

Electronic/Multimedia Presentation Senior Division, “Just Ask,” Beunkka Davis.

Second Place awards

Sports News Story (or series) Senior Division, “NASCAR Selects Alcorn Alumnus Alvin Wilson for Drive for Diversity Pit Crew Development Program,” Justus Reed.

Sports Feature Story (or series) Senior Division, “Born to Win: Bralon Robinson makes Alcorn Track and Field History as SWAC Indoor Champion,” Justus Reed.

Newsletter Senior Division, “Agriculture News Issue 4 & 5,” Beunkka Davis.

Advertisements Print Senior Division, “Small Farmers Conference Save the Date Ads,” Assanti Miller.

Digital Art/Photo Illustration Senior Division, “Legacy Giving Cords,” Tommie Green and Shannon Goff.

Third Place award

News Story Senior Division, “School of Agriculture and Applied Sciences Personnel and State Legislators Collaborate at Legislative Awards Luncheon,” Renita Lacy.