Alcorn student leaders attend NASAP Student Leadership Institute in Savannah, Ga.
Alcorn State University student leaders recently attended the National Association of Student Affairs Professionals (NASAP) Student Leadership Institute in Savannah, Ga.

The group included the Student Government Association (SGA) and Mister and Miss Alcorn.

“The NASAP Student Leadership Institute was an amazing experience,” said Jordan Buck, SGA President. “Throughout the leadership institute, we participated in interesting seminars, listened to inspiring speakers, and collaborated with numerous HBCU student leaders. We are eager to apply the knowledge and insights we have received to better serve Alcorn State University and our positions as student leaders.”

The NASAP Student Leadership Institute is an interactive six-day program designed for newly elected Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) student leaders, including Student Government Associations, Class Officers, Greek Councils, Student Ambassadors, and Programming Boards.

Pictured from left, are Eric Thompson II, Joshua Ray, De’Marcus Jackson, Solomon Bryant, Kristyn Wilson, Oniyah Robinson, Kaitlyn Phillips, Jordan Buck, Jillian Mills, and Arrington Robinson.

The Institute aims to empower these leaders to uplift their organizations and universities through enhanced leadership skills and a deeper understanding of their roles on campus.

During the Institute, participants engage in numerous activities about student leadership and development.

The program’s goals include fostering an appreciation for the mission and significance of HBCUs, promoting planning and organization to better serve students, catalyzing empowerment and positive change on their respective campuses, and building collaborative relationships with other student organizations, faculty, administration, and fellow students.

The NASAP Student Leadership Institute emphasizes the importance of forging meaningful relationships with campus administration to facilitate collaborative solutions and promote holistic growth.

Student leaders that participated in the NASAP Student Leadership Institute include —

Eric Thompson II – NPHC President, psychology major, Cincinnati, Ohio

Joshua Ray – Junior Class President, biology/health science major, Shelby, Miss.

De’Marcus Jackson – SGA Parliamentarian, geospatial engineering major, Natchez, Miss.

Solomon Bryant – SGA 1st Vice President, secondary education major, Minden, La.

Kristyn Wilson – Senior Class President, biology/pre-professional major, Canton, Miss.

Oniyah Robinson – 2nd Vice President, biology/health science major, Greenville, Miss.

Kaitlyn Phillips – Sophomore Class President, social work major, Shaw, Miss.

Jordan Buck – SGA President, agribusiness management major, Crenshaw, Miss.

Jillian Mills – Miss Alcorn, elementary education and English teaching major, Greenville, Miss.

Arrington Robinson – Mister Alcorn, biology major, Canton, Miss.

Founded in 1954 on the campus of Howard University, NASAP traces its roots back to two parent organizations: the National Association of Deans of Women and Advisor of Girls in Colored Schools, and the National Association of Personnel Dean of Men at Negro Educational Institutions. Today, NASAP is a prominent association that sponsors various programs and events focusing on the needs of students and the professional development of student affairs professionals.