Earth Day 2013(2)


Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Math and Science Building, Room 109

8:30 a.m.                
Chaired by Dr. Babu Patlolla, ASU
Opening Ceremony of Earth Day Celebration 
Earth Day Video and/or Video on the Environment/Culture 
Distribution of hand-outs 
Debate on Keystone XL Pipeline Project
Chaired by Dr. Bettaiya Rajanna, ASU

9:30 a.m.                 
Experts Symposium on the Environment 
Speakers: Mr. Steven Wiggs, Co-Manager, Wal-Mart, Vicksburg 
Mr. George Phillips, Museum of Natural Science, Jackson 
Ms. Courtney Chambers, US Army Engineer Research and Development Center

10:00-12:00 p.m.     
Symposium on the Environment by Public Officials Issuing of Earth Day Proclamations 

Chaired by Dr. Samuel White, ASU

Welcome to Mayors  

Dr. M. Christopher Brown II, president, Alcorn State University 

Speakers: Dr. Alex D.W. Acholonu, professor of Biology and Director, ASU Ecology Education Program 
Reading of The Green Generation Manifesto by Tanisha Hinton, Ecology Club Queen 

Hon. Fred Reeves, Mayor of Port Gibson 
What is being done in Port Gibson to safeguard the Port Gibson Environment 
Issue Earth Day Proclamation

Hon. Henry Banks, Mayor of Hazlehurst 
What is being done in Hazlehurst to safeguard the Hazlehurst Environment 
Issue Earth Day Proclamation 

Hon. Sally Garland, Mayor of Crystal Springs 
What is being done in Crystal Springs to safeguard the Crystal Springs Environment 
Issue Earth Day Proclamation

Vote of Thanks and Presentation of Certificates by 
Dr. Betty Roberts, Senior Vice President for University Operations and Chief Operating Officer

12:00 p.m.                 
Earth Day Reception immediately after symposium and distribution of prizes to contest winners by Dr. Voletta Williams 

Sponsored by SEEDS Campus Ecology Chapter of the Ecological Society of American, the Department of Biological Sciences and Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality