Alcorn State University celebrated the academic achievements of its President’s and Dean’s Scholars at the 85th Annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, March 21, 2024. A total of 307 President’s Scholars and 534 Dean’s Scholars for the spring 2023 semester, along with 232 President’s Scholars and 522 Dean’s Scholars for the Fall semester of 2023, were recognized during the annual event held at Oakland Memorial Chapel.

Under the theme “Building Success through Challenging Times,” the Honors Convocation showcased the commitment and hard work of Alcorn State University’s students. The ceremony commenced with a prelude by organist Tony Gordon, followed by an invocation delivered by Rev. Dr. C. Edward Rhodes II.

Dr. Wandra Arrington, director of the Myrlie Evers-Williams Honors Program, presided over the convocation and commended the scholars for their academic accomplishments. Arrington encouraged the students to utilize their knowledge to make a positive impact on the lives of others. She emphasized the importance of perseverance and striving for excellence, stating, “Always strive to be the best in whatever you choose to do. Remember, success is the Alcorn way!”

The keynote speaker for the event was Dr. Shirley Evers-Manly, dean of the School of Nursing. Evers-Manly delivered words of encouragement, highlighting the significance of family in the scholars’ journey towards success.

For a listing of honor scholars, visit here.