Where Knowledge and Character Matter

Student Advising

Undergraduate Programs

Faculty advisors are assigned for students in the undergraduate programs in the School of Nursing (SON) at Alcorn State University after the student has been accepted to the SON and are registered and begin classes. Once faculty advisor assignments are made, the assignments are posted to Blackboard sites for the nursing courses, as well as on bulletin boards located in the SON. Nursing students will maintain the same faculty advisor throughout the program of study unless reassignment is deemed necessary. If reassignment of a faculty advisor occurs, the student will be notified of the change in advisor as soon as possible.


Associate of Science Program (ASN)

Advisor NameEmailPhoneLocation

Dr. Ira Sewell, Program Coordinator

isewell@alcorn.edu

601-304-4324

Office # 132
Natchez Campus

Ms. Theresa Cole

tmcole@alcorn.edu

601-304-4353

Office # 101
Natchez Campus

Ms. Kathryn Hansen

khansen@alcorn.edu

601-304-4317

Office # 130
Natchez Campus

Ms. Lauren Guedon

lguedon@alcorn.edu

601-304-4347

Office # 131
Natchez Campus


Bachelor of Science Program (BSN)

Advisor NameEmailPhoneLocation

Ms. Gayle Hathcox, Program Coordinator

ghathcox@alcorn.edu

601-304-4341

Office # 106
Natchez Campus

Ms. Angela Duck

aduck@alcorn.edu

601-304-4373

Office # 104
Natchez Campus

Ms. Marla Farmer

mfarmer@alcorn.edu

601-304-4344

Office # 135
Natchez Campus

Dr. Walterine Nelson

wnelson@alcorn.edu

601-304-4225

Office # 128
Natchez Campus



Graduate Programs

Faculty advisors are assigned during the admissions process for students accepted and enrolled in the graduate programs in the School of Nursing (SON) at Alcorn State University. The name of the assigned advisor is communicated to the student by the faculty or staff of the SON prior to the first class meeting.

Nurse Practitioner or Nurse Educator

Advisor NameEmailPhoneLocation

Dr. LaWanda Baskin, Interim Director of Graduate Programs

lbaskin@alcorn.edu601-304-4303Office #115
Natchez Campus

Dr. Linda Godley

godley@alcorn.ed

601-304-4320

Office # 193
Natchez Campus


Powered by Finalsite